Y.E.S.S. It’s Warm!

Hello, lovelies!

Nights are starting to feel downright chilly here now, so I’ve decided my crocheting kick is a worthwhile one to improve upon for these acts of guerrilla love.  For all of you who aren’t familiar with the various Edmonton charities, Y.E.S.S. is the Youth Empowerment and Support Services, a local shelter.  

I started this project on Election Day, and, in all honesty, I had no idea what it would turn into when I started…but I just kept crocheting…and it turned into this strange and amazingly warm winter ninja hood!   I was extra excited to learn how to make the pom pom!

  

Wrote a little love note, stuck it on, and then tried a couple placements before actually ending up with it on the fence of the shelter.  Unfortunately, that photo was super blurred, so here was the initial spot…fire hydrants are reminiscent of heads in my mind, apparently.  This one was right across the street from Y.E.S.S., but I decided that wasn’t obvious enough and moved it after this photo was captured.

    
 
One of my friends helped me be all stealthy (about as stealthy as an excited puppy) with a flashlight to get good night photos, so I’m glad this one turned out.  

On a somber note, there was another Trans suicide here last week, and I am wondering about how many of the youth that are on the streets here are queer and have nowhere to call home.  In honor of them and in honor of my many friends who are survivors, next week I’ll be going for a rainbow semi-colon tattoo alongside my helpful flashlight friend.  I pray that someday we will all learn to love each other for who we are, labels aside, but for now I’m stepping up to help raise awareness so that there can be many more survivors.

Much love,

Guerrilla Lovely

Leave a Reply

